On Being Tired (#santéGL)

I’ve been trying to write a post about mental health for two weeks now. As you may or may not know, Bell’s “Let’s Talk” day was last week which has inspired my social media feeds to be full of everything and anything mental illness related.

(“Let’s Talk” is a cool day-long event across Canada, one I frankly don’t know enough about. The gist is that it’s a day to talk about mental illnesses and end the stigma surrounding them. Here’s the website link: http://letstalk.bell.ca/en/ ).

Us Glendon eAmbassadors decided it would be nice to have a week dedicated to #santeGL posts (or #GLhealth to all of my fellow anglophones) in honour of the day.

But guys, I’m tired.

I don’t want to talk about mental illness anymore. Mental health is all I think about. Every action I do comes with a serious analysis of the impacts it will have on my mental health or mental health adjacent parts of me (like my sleep schedule).

I tried to write a positive post about my experiences, and when that failed I tried to create a playlist of music that inspires me to try, -which if you’ve read my #GLsuccess post is the word I hinge my entire existence on- because I thought that might be a bit more interesting than me rambling on about myself. Even that proved hard to get through.

The posts that I wanted to write wouldn’t come. When I did get words out they were angry and bitter. That’s where I am in my life right now, unfortunately.

So instead of all that I’m going to directly address those of you reading this who struggle with serious and long term mental illness, and who, like I was a year ago, are considering if they can do the university thing with all its stress and hurdles:

All of my social media is public and open for you guys to message me on, and my primary email is britney-robin@outlook.com. Please bring your concerns to me. If you’re worried, well I’m here at Glendon already and I have advice to share. I promise I’m a good listener, and I promise to give honest answers to your questions.

For now that’s all I have to say! Maybe I’ll post something a bit more substantial on the topic in a few weeks -scratch that, I know I will. Just give me some time darlings!!

~Britney

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “On Being Tired (#santéGL)”

  1. I love how real you are with this post. You’re not being artificially positive or pretending to be happy. Just reflecting your current thoughts on mental illness and on writing a post about it 🙂

    Like

  2. TEN POINTS FOR HONESTY. Too often we tiptoe around what we’re actually getting at and try to make our point with a bunch of twisty turny rhetoric instead of just making the damn point. That straightforwardness is really really appreciated. 8D

    Like

  3. I haven’t done a #santegl post yet for the same reason, so I totally understand where you’re coming from. I really admire your honesty in your posts! If you need a break from listening and need to be listened to, I’m a good listener too 💗

    Like

Leave a Reply

